About - Shoalhaven RESCA

Go to content
Rotary Clubs of Shoalhaven Emergency Services Community Awards.
​The three Rotary Clubs in the Shoalhaven - Berry, Milton-Ulladulla and Nowra - are pleased to promote  the “Shoalhaven Emergency Services Community Awards (SESCA)”.
In keeping with Rotary’s motto of “Service Above Self”, the Awards acknowledge community service of NSW Police, Emergency Services (including other first response agencies) and ADF personnel in the Shoalhaven; with profits, if any, applied to:
  1. Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) reduction and welfare of Emergency Services Personnel; and
  2. Local community projects to be determined by the participating Rotary Clubs.

These Awards are open to all Shoalhaven-based personnel, both paid and volunteer, from the NSW Police, Emergency Service Agencies and ADF personnel in the Shoalhaven

While individual services have specific internal awards, the Shoalhaven Emergency Services Community Awards (SESCA) is the only time that New South Wales Emergency Services personnel, both paid and volunteer, are recognised in a combined awards program in this local government area. Apart from the new ADF Award, this program contributes directly to the State awards program.
These awards are supported by the Minister for Emergency Services, the Police Commissioner and all eight New South Wales Emergency Service Commissioners.  The Commissioners have delegated their support to their respective local government area representatives.
This year, the scope of  the Awards has been expanded to include other ‘first response’ agencies; to date Red Cross and ADF (in the Shoalhaven) are on-board, with others to come.  Further, a new Award - Shoalhaven Australian Defence Force Community Member of the Year – has been created to recognise the community service by ADF personnel.
These Awards are open to all Shoalhaven-based personnel, both paid and volunteer, from the NSW Police and first responder Agencies in the Shoalhaven:
·         Fire and Rescue New South Wales
·         New South Wales Rural Fire Service
·         Marine Rescue New South Wales
·         New South Wales State Emergency Service
·         New South Wales Ambulance
·         Surf Lifesaving New South Wales
·         New South Wales Police
·         Australian Red Cross
·         Australian Defence Force
While the NSW Police have a separate Rotary award, they will become a part of this scheme in the Shoalhaven, with the winner going into the State Police Rotary Award.
The Awards have been organised in the Shoalhaven local government area since 2019 and the agency winners of which will automatically go forward as nominees for the respective State Awards.
Unfortunately, nominations from those other first response agencies that are outside of the NSW Government agencies will not be eligible to go to the State RESCA because of the criteria currently laid out for those Awards.’
We are very honoured to have the Mayor of the Shoalhaven as Patron of the Awards, and Captain John Dun AFSM, NSW Fire + Rescue, as our Ambassador
Follow us on FaceBook
The SESCA Team
Phil Presgrave
Rotary Club of Nowra Inc.
Past President, PHF
Polly Shepherd
Rotary Club of Nowra
Past President, PHF
John Dun AFSM
Fire + Rescue NSW

Narelle King
Rotary Club of Berry
Ian Nichol
Rotary Club of Berry, President
Steve Hladio
SES Ulladulla Unit
Friend of Rotary, PP

Yvonne Young
Rotary Club of Milton-Ulladulla
Linda Fuller
Rotary Club of Nowra
Terry Delahunty
Rotary Club of Berry
Past President

Shoalhaven Emergency Services Community Awards
Phone: 0407 625 855
Email: admin@shoalhaven.rescawards.org.au
Back to content